28 New Things…well…19 New Things.

1 Jul

Happy birthday to meeee! I am officially 28 today. What an adult sounding number! Year 27 was weird, tough and very different than the five years before. I have a feeling that it’s a year I’ll look back on as a big one.

To A "Big" Little Lady On Her Birthday

Last summer, I pledged to do 28 new things. I actually did pretty darn good at doing them…I completed 19 of the goals! Of course, I was too lazy to write about a bunch of them (whoops), but still. I’m pretty proud of myself.

I’ll make a new list for this year soon, and I’d love to hear if you have any suggestions for new things for me to try! I’m off to celebrate the start of a whole new year. Woo!

How I did!

1. Go to a Meet-Up Done!

2. Swim in Barton Springs. Done!

3. See the Congress Bridge batsDone!

4. Go to at least three concerts. Done and Done!

5. Buy real cowgirl boots.

6. Go line dancing.

I didn’t do this, but I did learn how to two step and did that an awful lot. I’m calling it a win. 

IMG_2235

A live band at a two step bar.

7. Go to the LBJ Library. Done!

8. Go to the San Antonio Riverwalk. Done!

9. Eat BBQ in Lockhart, the BBQ capital of Texas! Done!

10. Swim in a natural lake/creek/swimming hole. Hamilton Pool, perhaps? Or Krause SpringsDone!

11. Run a 10k. Done!

12. Take a road trip to a yet to be determined Texan destination.

Did it twice, but never wrote about it! Hit up a tiny town in West Central Texas for a night of relaxation during the fall semester with a couple friends, and then did the whole Museum/Astros game thing in Houston as soon as school got out!

Astros Stadium! Beautiful, but it'll never replace the less ritzy Dodger Stadium.

Astros Stadium! Beautiful, but it’ll never replace the less ritzy Dodger Stadium.

13. Write snail mail to friends and family.

Welllll…. I did this sometimes, but probably just as much as last year. I need to make my goals more concrete for this coming year.

14. Take my fancy camera out for a day in Austin.  Done!

15. Explore the Lady Bird Johnson Wildflower Center. Take photos.

Done…and I even took a ton of photos, but then was too lazy to take them off the DSLR. You’re just going to have to take my word for it!

16. Bake a cake FROM SCRATCH.

17. Run one of those goofy themed 5ks. A zombie run? A color run? A mud run? They’re all good. Done!

18. Volunteer (can’t be library/school related!)

19. Eat a breakfast taco! Done! And it was delicious!

20. Join a rec sports league. Kickball, perhaps?

21. SXSW!   Done!

22. Attend a Nerd Nite Austin event.

23. Attend a special movie event at Alamo Drafthouse Cinema. Done!

24. Go to UT football game. Hook ’em!

25. Grow fresh herbs aka don’t kill all the plants that come into your possession.

26. Try three new fitness routines. Pilates? Belly dancing? Barre? Biking? Boxing? So many options!

I actually tried out a ton of new exercise classes. The weirdest? Belly dancing taught by two kind of kooky old ladies. The most rocking? “Pound” at Crunch Gym, where you pound the ground with weighted drum sticks as hard as you can while doing a ton of different crunches and lunges. The most TV inspired? “LABlast” at Crunch Gym, a dance class based on Dancing With The Stars. I also got more into biking, hiking, spin, and dance in general. It was a good year for working out.

27. Go to a rodeo.

28. Hike the Barton Creek Greenbelt.

I did this twice. Apparently it’s what you do on Austin dates, because I had two different guys suggest this as a date. It’s a really pretty place, but I’ll never get used to Texas hiking. It’s so flat! In California, I swear you’re always aiming for the top of a hill. Not so in Texas.

 

4 Responses to “28 New Things…well…19 New Things.”

  1. cross(stitch)yourheart July 1, 2013 at 8:59 am #

    Amazing progress on your list, even if you didn’t finish everything you still did fantastic! And I hope you had a fabulous birthday.

  2. Laura Rowsell (@LauraRowsell) July 1, 2013 at 12:45 pm #

    HAPPY BIRTHDAYYYYY!! And lookit all the things you did! That’s awesome. If I’d lived in Texas last year, I would have made sure you baked that cake from scratch though. BAKING IS AWESOME!

    Will there be a 29 new things list sooooon? 🙂

  3. Nine Cent Girl July 1, 2013 at 6:04 pm #

    Love the idea of a checklist… and one that matches your age! I just might have to steal this idea!!

  4. Kerry (@KerryAnn) July 3, 2013 at 5:47 pm #

    Happy (late) birthday!! And congrats on accomplishing so many new things! I’m definitely in awe of all the exercise classes you tried.

Give me a shout!

