What I Read This Week: 6/27/13 – 7/3/13

3 Jul

"A Mind Needs Books as a Sword Needs a Whetstone" (63/365)

You guys. I have a confession. A second week has gone by, and I haven’t finished a book. I thought last week was an anomaly, but I think it’s now safe to say that I’m in a reading slump.

You remember my issues with Wolf Hall last week. Well, I decided to put it aside for a bit, and picked up Absurdistan at the library, thinking it would be a nice change. Well. Yeah. Haven’t made a whole lot of headway.

Maybe it’s the new job. I critically consume media all day at my internship, so having to really concentrate on a book when I get home doesn’t always sound like the most fun.

Maybe it’s being in LA. There are beaches to visit and movies to see and a whole bunch of friends that I don’t have nine months out of the year.

Maybe it’s the summer laziness. That’s a thing, right?

Do any of you ever get into reading slumps? How do you shake yourself out of it? Should I just start reading some utter mindless junk? Should I just get my act together? HELLLLLLP MEEEEEE!

4 Responses to “What I Read This Week: 6/27/13 – 7/3/13”

  1. Charleen July 3, 2013 at 7:57 am #

    If I’m in a slump, a lot of times re-reading an old favorite will help bust me out of it.

  2. cross(stitch)yourheart July 3, 2013 at 8:48 am #

    Well, I joined in a summer read-a-thon and that’s given me some accountability to finishing something, but before that I was too distracted by life to sit down and read. Work usually gets me so exhausted I just want to watch tv…but after a few hours of reality tv I’m in the mood to read again (unless it’s something good on tv, then the reading slump continues).

  3. Laura Rowsell (@LauraRowsell) July 3, 2013 at 11:49 am #

    I really have no idea what to do in a reading slump, cause mostly I just spend that time wandering around aimlessly, staring at books and wondering what they’re FOR. But reading some mindless, entertaining junk definitely seems like a good idea, or MAYBE just hanging out with your friends and stuff is a better one 😉

  4. daydreamer254 July 3, 2013 at 4:10 pm #

    I’ve been major reading slumps before, where I’d go into Barnes & Nobles and now defunct Borders with no desire to buy anything. I don’t read because it doesn’t make sense to force myself when I know I’m not going to go past the first page. I just let the reading bug come to me.

Give me a shout!

