Friday Fun Day – 7/19/2013

19 Jul
These goats were at the house we stayed in last weekend for my friend's bachelorette party. They were AWESOME.

These goats were at the house we stayed in last weekend for my friend’s bachelorette party. They were AWESOME.

I hope you all had a fantastic week! I managed to work my butt off, while still getting in some fun dance workouts, cook some good meals and see some friends who I hadn’t hung with in a while. I also ate my favorite LA hamburger!

I also bought my entry to a big archivist conference in New Orleans in a month. I haven’t been to New Orleans since I was about 13, so any recommendations are very welcome!

On to the weekend!

What I Learned

  • Goodreads did a study on why people abandon books, and they got some pretty interesting results. Top five abandoned books? A Casual Vacancy (since it’s not Harry Potter…), Eat Pray Love, The Girl With the Dragon Tattoo, 50 Shades of Grey and Wicked. As someone who abandoned The Girl With the Dragon Tattoo and won’t even start Eat Pray Love…I get it.
  • Reese Witherspoon will be starring in the film adaptation of Wild, and Nick Hornby will be writing the adapted screenplay! I’m really happy about both of those things.
  • There’s going to be a documentary about Calvin and Hobbes! I might need to re-read all of the comic strips in preparation.

 

Links

One Response to “Friday Fun Day – 7/19/2013”

  1. kingmidget July 19, 2013 at 5:55 pm #

    So much good stuff here. Why did you give up on The Girl with the Dragon Tattoo? I somewhat enjoyed the first book, thought the second was tedious and skipped the third.
    Calvin and Hobbes documentary? Are you kidding me? I’m there.
    The shrimp recipe. I’m there, too.
    I love your Friday posts. Nice mix of a lot of things.

Give me a shout!

