Friendships and Weddings

29 Jul

I’m back from my hiatus, both refreshed and exhausted. Oh, and I’m feeling ridiculously sentimental.

weddingI watched my first college friend get married this weekend, and wow. She set the bar high. The couple was lovely and happy, the venue was in the gorgeous Malibu mountains, the weather was warm and perfect, the drinks were strong and the dance floor stayed crazy until 2 AM. Oh, and the venue had a ton of exotic animals. You know, bison, llamas, camels, zebras, emus and parrots. Your normal wedding animals.

And, amazingly, about 20 of my best college friends were able to make it. This meant there wasn’t a whole lot of time to sleep, as it was more important to chat, gossip and play in the pool and hot tub.

This weekend,  I remembered how lucky I am. I met this whole crew of friends when we were all randomly put on the same floor my first year of college. We became so close, our RA called a special meeting to tell us to get out of the dorm and make other friends so we wouldn’t get sick of each other. No one understood it. Why would we do that when we had all the best people just steps away?

Now, ten years later, we are still ridiculously close. We have been there for each other through the ups and down. We’ve supported each other through break-ups, arguments, job losses, bad fashion choices, even worse facial hair decisions and really nerdy obsessions. We have celebrated each others grad school acceptances, career advances, new cars, big moves and new romances. I can’t hide who I am from these guys. We lived together. We know each others life stories and childhood pets’ names. Too many of them have seen me in my underwear (sorry, guys). I’ve traveled internationally with some of them. I’ve crashed on their couches. I’ve had them crash on mine. They have introduced me to great music, movies and TV. They’ve been my baseball game buddies, IM sports teammates, and football explainers. They have been shopping buddies and saved me from some horrible wardrobe malfunctions by being safety pin gurus. And, of course, they have given me some of the best life advice, even when I’m not ready to hear it. I don’t talk to all of them all the time, but I do know that if I ever need help, day or night, my crew has my back. I’m very lucky to be able to say that.

photo

As I watched my beautiful friend dance with her new husband on Saturday night, surrounded by friendly faces and candlelight, it struck me just how much love I have in my life. I need to remember that more often, because it is a rare thing.

2 Responses to “Friendships and Weddings”

  1. Kelly Wilkinson April 9, 2015 at 1:21 pm #

    Hi, I was wondering if you could tell me the name of the venue your friend had their wedding at. I’ve been researching wedding venues and came across your photo via google. It looks like it was gorgeous! Thank you so much!

    -Kelly

    • ohdizzle April 10, 2015 at 12:26 pm #

      Hi Kelly! The wedding was at Saddlerock Ranch in the hills outside Malibu (kinda). http://www.malibufamilywines.com/#about

      It was truly the most beautiful wedding I’ve ever attended. Also, the venue was just featured on The Bachelor, so that has to count for something… 😉

      Good luck with your wedding planning!

Give me a shout!

