Road Trip Music!

15 Aug

As I have just finished most of my very long summer road trip (still have to drive back to Austin from New Orleans, but that’s nothing compared to the rest of it!), I figured I’d share some of my favorite driving jams. There’s really nothing like screaming out the words to a great song after you’ve been driving through West Texas hour…after hour…after hour.

Still on an Edward Sharpe high after the concert. Although pretty much any of their songs are perfect road trip songs, this one is my current favorite:

Because every road trip needs a bit of Dolly:

Graceland…the ultimate road trip album. It’s hard to pick just one track, but I think the title track is perfect:

A song from Kacey Musgraves, my obsession of the year. And it’s about RVing! What is more road trippy than that?!

And because I promise I don’t only listen to country, a bit of old school hip hop:
LET ME CLEAR MY THROAT

Now all the ladies in the place
If you got real hair, real fingernails
If you got a job, you going to school
And y’all need nobody to help you handle your business
Make some noise!!!!!!

And because my destination was Louisiana, how about some bouncy, ridiculous Dirty South music from True Blood? Yesssssss.

What are your favorite road trip songs? Anything that melds the world of hip hop and country together? That would be THE BEST!

Give me a shout!

