What I read…well, some of what I read.

12 Mar

How to sum up seven months of reading? In bullet point form! Since August, I’ve read 24 books.

  • Of those 24, two were for school. The rest were for pleasure. (This makes it sound like grad school’s a cake walk. Let’s be clear: I read an awful lot more for school, it’s just that I mostly read chapters or articles, not full books. And believe me, you do not want to hear about most of the articles/chapters I read…blergh.)
  • Nine of the books were nonfiction, while the other 15 were fiction. Of the nonfiction, seven were memoirs. I need to get back to reading some tougher nonfiction instead of the lighter stuff.
  • On Goodreads, I gave four of the books five star reviews, eleven got four star reviews, five got three star reviews and four got two star reviews. I didn’t give out any one star reviews, because I’m super nice…well and I didn’t have to read any truly awful ones.
  • My favorite four books were The Ocean at the End of the Lane, Sum, Never Fall Down and Hyperbole and a Half.
    • The Ocean at the End of the Lane was the perfect mix of childhood wonder, old magic and realistic fantasy. It reminded me a lot of A Wrinkle in Time, in the best ways.
    • Sum was a complete impulse by at a very nice independent bookstore in downtown Santa Barbara. The author gives forty explanations for the afterlife, some whimsical, some puzzling and some incredibly sad. Each story is bite-sized, making it easy to either read a story at a time, or take it all in at once.
    • Never Fall Down is a young adult book about the Khmer Rouge. Yeah, it’s just about as cheery as it sounds, but it’s affecting and gripping stuff.
    • And of course, everyone’s favorite blogger Allie Brosh’s graphic memoir Hyperbole and a Half. If you haven’t checked out her website already, what the heck are you still doing here. Go read about cake and dogs and depression and life.
  • My least favorite book was Happily Ever AfterI can definitely enjoy some fluff, but wow, this was so fluffy that all I remember from it is a vague distaste.
  • I read two Stephen King novels : The Tommyknockers (mostly silly, though the images of people having their teeth fall out has stuck with me) and Doctor Sleep (not a bad follow up to The Shining. Not particularly scary, though).
  • I put aside some genre prejudices and read a book that you’d get in the fantasy section of Barnes and Noble…and I kinda liked it. More about that at a later date.

All in all not a bad few months, though I did slow down a bit from my usual pace. I’m hoping to hit at least 65 books in 2013, and right now I’m almost on track. Of course, I just started the tome that is The Goldfinch, so I may be behind for a while. Luckily for a nearly 800 page book, it is gripping and going along at a good clip.

What have you guys been reading? Anything I need to check out ASAP?

2 Responses to “What I read…well, some of what I read.”

  1. Laura March 13, 2014 at 1:02 am #

    You’ve pretty much got what I would have recommended to you covered- The Goldfinch is so so awesome and even though I finished it in January, i still think it’s going to be one of the best things I read all year.

    Well done for getting through The Tommyknockers. Oh, how I loathe that book!

  2. Ben March 14, 2014 at 3:18 pm #

    Completely agree about The Ocean at the End of the Lane! There’s a wonderful “something” about it. You described it perfectly. btw… Your cat just attacked my keyboard while I was writing this…

Give me a shout!

